top of page

Spelbring Advisory Board

Under the guidance of the Advisory Board, the vision of the Lyla M. Spelbring Lectureship that began as a kernel of an idea in 2010 has grown into a nationally known endowed lectureship.  


The Spelbring Advisory Board consists of Alumnae and faculty from the EMU Occupational Therapy Program as well as the Foundation Officer for the College of Health and Human Services. Three of the founding members of the board, Regina Michael Campbell, Carole Hays, and Leslie Kamil, worked closely with Dr. Spelbring at the University of Michigan Medical Center and considered her to be a mentor.


The board meets quarterly to select the endowed lecturer, oversee financial activities that serve to support the mission of the Spelbring and sustain the lectureship, and collaborate with the Event Planning Committee to assure excellence.


Members of the Spelbring Advisory Board:

Board Chair -

Valerie Howells, Ph.D., OT/L, FAOTA, Emeritus Professor, EMU OT Program

EMU OT Alumna, 1974, Inaugural member


Board Members - 

Regina Michael Campbell, MS, OTR, FAOTA, Emeritus Professor, Texas Woman’s University, Dallas, Tx  

EMU OT Alumna, 1969, Inaugural member

 Carole Hays, MA, OTR (retired), FAOTA, Baltimore, Maryland

EMU OT Alumna, 1960, 1970, Inaugural member

Leslie Kamil, OTRL, MS, JD, Michigan Medicine, Ann Arbor, Michigan

EMU OT Alumna 1971, Inaugural member   

Gretchen Dahl Reeves, Ph.D., OT/L, FAOTA, Emeritus Professor, EMU OT program

Member since 2012

Katie MacDonald, MA, OTRL, Willowbrook Rehabilitation, Brighton, Michigan

EMU OT Alumna, 2006, Member since 2014

Penny Helfrich, MSEd, OTR/L , Saginaw Intermediate School District, Saginaw, Michigan

EMU OT Alumna 1984, Member since 2016

Susan E. Robosan-Burt, OTRL, FMiOTA, FAOTA

EMU OT Alumna 1980, Member since 2020

Trish Foster, PhD, OTR/L, EMU OT Program Director

EMU OT Alumna, Member since 2023

bottom of page